ginger + molasses flapjacks

IMAG0769[1]

Sugar
Sugar
Sugar, butter
Sugar, butter, flour
Sugar, butter, flour
Sugar, butter, flour

… the echoing voices of Sara Bareilles sung in my head as I was trying to rack my brains for the merest shadows of answers during last night’s exam #3. Pretty sure my subconscious was telling me that I was suffering from a severe condition known as Baking Deficiency. Okay, I was also pretty hungry but it really has been uncomfortably long since I’ve held a whisk.

By the way, scheduling an exam between 5:45-8pm is just inhumane.

Untitled

Sadly, at the time of this entry I have not indulged in my fondest hobby since last time. The flapjacks were made – and consumed – more than a month ago, way back when I started the blog. It’s been like watching a baby grow – a surprisingly steep learning curve where I’m constantly swapping tones (my first post already seems hilarious how pretentious and serious it is), blog themes, names, colours. In less than 2 months, I’ve already learned so much just by doing less of the things that make myself cringe and more of the things I particularly admire about other blogs.

IMAG0768[1]
So please excuse the decline in photo quality yet again. When holidays start in one week’s time I’ll have nothing better to do than to cook all day (and read and catch up on approx. 598237948 missed episodes). I’m planning to do a few series during the infinitely long holidays. Perhaps one on childhood favourites, in honour of my impending mid-life crisis; a beginner series in honour of my failing years when I first started baking; and a retrospective or two on the past year of uni.

Back to the flapjacks. Credits to the UK bloggers for introducing these into my repertoire. I wasn’t exactly sure about what texture I should be going for, but it became evident that they were basically muesli bars as I began mixing, so crunchy and chewy it was. They’re not dissimilar to Anzac biscuits, which I love, with a hint of fresh ginger. It hardly takes 20 minutes to put them together, great for when you need a boost in energy, or just, craving a spicy treat.


Ginger + molasses flapjacks
(6″ square pan)

150g unsalted butter
75g molasses
75g white granulated sugar
1/2 tsp fresh grated/powdered ginger
pinch of salt
225g rolled oats

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F. Line a 6″ square pan or equivalent with foil or baking paper. In a pan bring everything but the oats to a simmer, stirring once in a while. Take it off the heat and mix in the oats. Tip mixture into the tin and compact into the base by pressing firmly. Bake for ~20 minutes until the edges turn golden and crispy. Let cool down a bit before slicing when the centre is no longer soft.

2 thoughts on “ginger + molasses flapjacks

Give me your honest opinion. I can stand it. Maybe.

