dutch baby

IMAG0756

Just a quick post today before my descent back into the fiery realms of dentistry. From here onwards until end of semester I’ll only be baking on the weekend, I imagine. No more late mornings, daydreaming and considered breakfasts. (By late I mean 7:30 instead of 6:30/7:00. We’re not ones to sleep in at all, ever. The same can’t be said about the boys.) And no more procrastinating, hopefully. The tears I’ll be shedding tomorrow in the prac exam will be more than enough to keep the specimens moist.

I’ve made real progress in the last 10 days alright. Caught up on… OITNB S3, Sicario and The Martian (last night in a huge electric reclining seat, no less). Yeah, I’m definitely passing second year.

Enough depressing talk about my dim prospects. Let’s talk about the Dutch baby pancake. Another thing that’s not a thing around here and would never have made its way into my world if not for the illuminating power of the blogosphere. I immediately thought of a Yorkshire pudding, an egg soufflé that puffs up wondrously in the oven and served ASAP. The texture is interesting, not like a conventional pancake but almost custardy. And the toppings are endless, from sweet to savoury, even sour if going the lemon + sugar route. Flambéed orange segments, caramel apples, unspecified hazelnut spread… I could have this for a week. I served mine today very simply with sliced fruit, a dash of cream and honey.

IMAG0755

Dutch baby pancake (makes one ~9″/23cm pancake, serves 2*)

2 eggs
70g flour
pinch of salt
pinch of sugar (omit if making a savoury pancake)
150g milk
knob of butter, about 1tbsp

*about 1 egg per serving. Multiply/divide accordingly.

Preheat the oven to 210C/410F and put the pan/skillet in (no butter yet).

Lightly whisk the eggs and sift in the dry ingredients. Whisk until smooth and lump-free. Pour in the milk in several additions to maintain smoothness of batter.

When the oven’s come up to temperature, drop the butter in and close the oven door. Once the butter has melted and is bubbling slightly, quickly but carefully pour in the batter. Bake for about 15 minutes or until golden and puffed. Serve immediately.

Give me your honest opinion. I can stand it. Maybe.

