pumpkin roll

IMAG0728

Why aren’t pumpkin desserts a thing in Australia? For all of the obsession with pumpkin spice lattes and Halloween and fall season in general in the US, we’re just sort of ‘meh’ on the whole phenomenon this time of year. Maybe it’s just hard to get excited for Halloween when there aren’t any autumn leaves lying around. So I was determined to educate myself and give in to the passion surrounding pumpkin-flavoured sweets.

Random story, there’s an English tuition place near us back home named ‘Pumkin Kids’, spelling mistake and all boldly displayed on its signs. Irony at its finest.

Anyway, no typed up recipe today as it’s just the one everyone uses and credits on the interwebs. Simple straightforward fall staple – I thought I’d keep it classic for this historic moment that is trying sweetened pumpkin. If it wasn’t for the sugar it’d be pretty much healthy: virtually no fat and a full cup of vegetables. I thought it really resembled yam cake which I’ve made before both flavour and texture-wise, meaning it’s sort of mellow, complemented perfectly by spice, awesome comfort food.

Untitled

So far I’m loving blogging. I can create a relatively safe space for myself to reflect without judgement. A retreat where I don’t have to retreat. As much as I’m still self-consciously aware of how I’m in that awkward initial phase where I haven’t really found my style and am posting shitty photos taken with a phone camera; I feel like I own something. Maybe one day when I’m comfortable enough I’ll even go without an alias.

IMAG0727_1

I try to remember to thank God for one of his greatest gifts – friendship – every night. It’s saved my ass more times than I care to count. I’ve moved schools literally ten times growing up, between two countries. It got to the point where I’d pretend I hadn’t learned my classmates’ names yet in order to still pass as the foreigner, so that when it came time to break bonds, I wouldn’t have to because I didn’t have any. My efforts at building fences didn’t work out, fortunately, and there would almost always be souls kind enough to approach me, aloof as I seemed. It was a weird and unnecessarily self-induced phase, my early teenage years, where my life was spent in self-pity and my extreme shyness took a toll. If I ever have my 15 minutes of fame I’ll remember those who kept me in perspective and make my junior high and high school years not entirely miserable.

Give me your honest opinion. I can stand it. Maybe.

